Skip to content

Grand Final approaches

YHOY LogoThe 2014 Young Horticulturist of the Year (YHoY) competition will reach its climax on Saturday 10th May with the Grand Final to be held at the John Innes Centre, Norwich.

Last years final was held at Ness, with Jez Stamp, currently working with the BBC Gardeners' World production team, winning the overall title and and the Percy Thrower Travel Bursary of £2,000, awarded by the Shropshire Horticultural Society.  Jez is currently planning a trip to Western China and Taiwan to study woody plants.

Eight finalists, have battled their way through local heats and regional finals to compete for the much sought after title Travel Bursary.  There are cash prizes for all finalists as well as other prizes, totalling in excess of £15,000 for those who have taken part in the heats and regional finals. This year's  Grand Final will be live streamed so you can watch the action take place, as it happens, on the day from just before the competition starts at 11:00am: 

The finalists competing in the 2014 YHoY Grand Final are:

Rosie Kippen - BSc (Hons) student at Writtle College and Nursery Assistant.

Stephen Walsh - student at Teagasc College of Amenity Horticulture, National Botanic Gardens, Glasnevin.

Lawrence Wright - student gardener, Historic and Botanic Garden Bursary Scheme, at Chatsworth House.

Chris Parsons - Self-employed gardener, East Durham College

Lachlan Rae - student, HND in Horticulture with Plantsmanship, at SRUC Edinburgh and Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh.

Kristina Vandenberg -student of the RHS Wisley Diploma in Practical Horticulture, Wisley.

Guy Jones - Owner of Emotive Landscapes.

Jessica Evans - Jessica Evans, National Trust (Tintinhull).

This annual national competition, which is free to enter and open to any horticulturist in the UK below the age of 30 on 31 July each year, is organised by the Institute of Horticulture - which represents all those professionally engaged in horticulture in the UK and Ireland.



05 May 2014